Mind Power!

As a Professional Core Alignment Mentor, I find that one of the many quandaries people face when asked what they want is that they really don’t know.   I may then ask someone, “What is important to you?”  They might answer, “My family is important to me, my financial security, health.”    A few might give a first response of, “Wow, that’s a tough question, I really don’t know.”  So, most people know what is important to them, but do they really know what they want?

mistake-1966448_1920

When I was a child, I dreamed of things I would do if I didn’t have parents around telling me what to do.  While this seems like I was against my parents, it was an innocent place in the mind of a child.  If I didn’t have chores, or didn’t have to babysit my siblings, or had a car to go wherever I wanted, I could really BE somebody.  Yeah, that’s what I want, to be somebody.  

At the time, I was too young to realize that being somebody was already in the formative process and that I was being a little too impatient in that journey.  But, not knowing that information didn’t stop me from dreaming or beginning to write and sketch them out on paper.

While on a vacation in 1973, I sat in the backseat of my parents station wagon with my five younger siblings.  It was an hour trip, so I decided to pull out my sketch pad and draw what was hanging in my mind for awhile.  I wanted to capture this image or it would fade from memory.  I began to sketch what my dream house would look like.  I was fourteen.

When I was seven, I knew that I wanted to help people in some way when I grew up.  I wrote to the missionaries serving in foreign countries, and gave my allowance to help starving children.  I didn’t know what I would do to help people in my future, but knew in my heart that this “spoke” to me.

My parents built a solid foundation of parenting their children with strong convictions to faith and loyalty to family.   Creativity was encouraged in our family.  The artistic roots ran deep and rich with music, quilt making, medicine making, healing, writing,  painting, cooking, and farming.  bonfire-1867275_1920

Dreaming, however, was not talked about.  Dreams were “out there” and reality was “here.”   The consensus was that you were born into your work or just got a job to make money; and, that miracles only happened back in “spiritual history” times.

Jump forward to 1994.  I married my second husband in the summer of 1992, and we had settled in to a nice house in the suburbs of St. Louis.  In the hot summer of ’94, the kids were away visiting their father.  My husband and I decided to take this time to finally sort through our belongings to consolidate boxes that we had not completed when we moved into our house.

I located a large box that contained a number of memorabilia from my childhood.  I found the sketch of my childhood dream house.  I called my husband over to look at it.  He said, “Cool!  When did you have time to draw that?”  I replied, “I drew this when I was fourteen.”

“No way!” my husband shouted.  I was taken back by his response, misunderstanding that he thought I couldn’t have possibly had the talent to draw such a picture.

“What do you mean?”

” I mean that, well…come let me show you.”  With sketch in hand and with excitement, he pulled me down our hallway and through the front door.  He guided me to stand on the street and look at our house.  Well, readers: you tell me, does this look like the house I sketched when I was fourteen?

IMG_4463

Our minds are an amazing phenomenon.  Science is still researching how our minds are capable of guiding our future, our bodies, and our healing.  This much I know:  any time I wrote down what I wanted, I received it.  And, people who use their mind as their power are typically highly successful people.  They create bucket lists, they draw pictures, make collages of what they truly want to pursue.

Not everyone knows what they want, so it takes the guidance of a teacher, a counselor, friend, or an educated mentor/coach, to help us to explore what is really important and possible in our lives.  Finding miracles that are already there waiting for us to uncover.

Some of you might say, “Well, you did it Kat, without a coach.”  My answer is, partially yes.  Along the way, I hired mentors and coaches who helped me get answers for the things I wanted in life for me and for my family.   It wasn’t until two years ago that I had come full circle from my seven year old desire to help others in a profound way.

“Create the highest, grandest vision possible for your life, because you become what you believe.” ~ Oprah

Remember my story about when I was seven?  In the raw stages of our development, our minds are wide open to dreams, learning, and filtering.  We are aligned with our mind, body and spirit, taking notes and storing it for future use.  My mind held that deep belief that I would some day help people in extraordinary ways.

Today,  I help people to overcome their fears, anxieties and barriers and to live a life of understanding with peace of mind and the grounded feeling of joy.  Mentoring causes a ripple effect in people’s lives.  My experiences become the teacher and my mind remembers a beautiful, lasting legacy of who I was and who I have become.  I still create in my mind of who I profess to be and will always work towards being my best to serve others.  This is my dream and my miracle.

I wish you all the best you can be with the information you have; make your lists and bring mind power to your world!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAKat is a Professional Core Alignment Mentor who specializes in the art and science of NeuroLinguistic Programming and Emotional Wisdom Training.

She has helped many people realize their own potential, improve parenting, build confidence, respond more wisely to stress, and more.

Kat’s practice spans the globe for English-speaking people.  Her passion is helping people awaken the light of wisdom within themselves to live a life of joy.

 

Contact:  info@taprootsforlife.com

Site:  https://taprootsforlife.com

taproots-for-life-logo-medium-web

 

Leave a Reply

